Can Your Car Insurance be affected by Texting While Driving Offenses?
All drivers should know by now that texting while driving is illegal in most US states. In Massachusetts the law went into effect on September 30, 2010, forbidding drivers to use their mobile devices to text while driving. And in Connecticut the law was enacted much earlier, in January of 2009.
The laws regarding use of mobile devices while driving are getting stricter to prevent people from causing unnecessary accidents due removing focus from where it should be – on the road. So what are the laws in each state exactly? And can repeat offenses affect your car insurance over the long-term?
According to Masslive.com, the state of Massachusetts prohibits all drivers under the age of 18 from engaging in any form of mobile communication while driving, which includes the use of hands-free devices. For those over eighteen, the first offense for texting while driving will slap you with a $100 dollar ticket, the second offense with a $250 dollar fine, and any violation after that is a $500 plus fine per offense. Beyond the financial implications, being ticketed for distracted driving can affect your car insurance in Massachusetts!
Like most other repeat offenses and multiple ticket charges, your car insurance company will be notified of violations you receive and your rate could be affected.
With laws in the state of CT being around for almost two years longer when it comes to texting while operating a vehicle, the sanctions are much stricter in the constitution state. The laws are similar to Massachusetts but a few terms were added as of 2011. According to Handsfreeinfo.com, the second driving while texting offense would make the driver guilty of a misdemeanor charge and police would have the option to take the offenders license away for a period of 24 hours.
So what about your Connecticut auto insurance policy? Will multiple driving offenses from the use of mobile devices hike up your rate? The answer is yes. Again, any type of repeat offense can cause your car insurance company to take notice. With especially strict laws in the state of CT, you will be better off just waiting until your next stop to take out your cell phone.
Did you know that drivers who use hand-held devices are four times as likely to get into crashes serious enough to injure themselves? That is according the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety. Do yourself a favor and focus on the road…your phone will be there after your car is in park.